نصائح للشباب

المواد المخدّرة

  • السجائر والنارجيلة
  • الكحول

بعض المواد غير  القانونية :

  • القنب (الماريجوانا والحشيش)
  • الإكستاسي
  • الكوكايين
  • الهيروين

في لبنان، للقبض على مادة غير شرعية عواقب قانونية خطيرة، بما في ذلك السجن من 3 أشهر إلى 3 سنوات وغرامة قد تصل إلى ٥ ملايين ليرة لبنانية.

في لبنان ، يعتبر القنب من المواد المخدرة غيرالقانونية . يعتقد الكثيرون أنه لا يؤدي الى أي أضرار، بل إلى الشعور بالسعادة والاسترخاء وزيادة الشهية فقط. لكن تناوله يمكن أن يكون له بعض الآثار السلبية: فقد يعرّض الإنسان لخطر حدوث حادث سير بسبب تباطؤ ردود الفعل. الاستخدام المستمر يمكن أن يؤدي إلى مشاكل في الذاكرة على المدى القصير، والإدمان. على الرغم من أن استخدام القنب قانوني  في بعض البلدان، كما يستخدم في بعض الأحيان للأغراض الطبية، هذا لا يعني أنّه لصالحك.

يستخدَم الإكستاسي (المعروف  أيضًا بمخدّر السعادة)، في الحفلات الراقصة والسهرات لتمتدّ ساعات السهر لوقت أطول. يمنح هذا المخدّر الإنسان الشعور بالطاقة لفترة قصيرة، لكن سرعان ما يتحوّل ذلك الى الشعور بالقلق، وارتفاع ضغط الدم، وزيادة سرعة نبضات القلب، بالإضافة الى الشعور بالحزن أو الاكتئاب. بمجرد تناوله، يسبب الإكستاسي الجفاف، الأمر الذي غالبًا ما يحثّ  على تناول الكحول. أمّا المزج بين الإكستاسي والكحول فضار للغاية ويمكن أن يكون سامًا ومميتًا. لذا، يجب على الأشخاص الذين اختاروا تناول الإكستاسي، أن يشربوا الماء أو المشروبات غير الكحولية فقط لإرواء العطش.

هل النارجيلة ضارّة؟ تتوفّر النارجيلة بكثرة في المقاهي والمطاعم والمنازل في لبنان، وتدخينها شائع جدّاً. لدى الكثير من الأشخاص مفاهيم خاطئة عن النارجيلة، إذ يعتقدون أنها أقل ضررًا من السجائر. فهم يعتبرون أن المياه التي في داخلها تلعب دور الفلتر، وتخلي الأنبوب من السموم والمواد الكيميائية، ممّا يجعل النارجيلة غير ضارّة. أمّا الحقيقة فهي أنّ تدخين النارجيلة أكثر ضررًا من تدخين السجائر. إنّ تركيزات الدخان التي يتم استنشاقها أكبر بكثير، لذلك يدخل الدخان إلى الرئتين، حتى إذا كان الشخص لا يستنشقها. تقلل المياه من طعم الفحم المستخدم لحرق التبغ، لكنها لا تزيل المواد الكيميائية الضارة.

إنّها لا تمنحك "الطاقة" فحسب. تسوّق شركات مشروبات الطاقة منتجاتها بكونها تمنحك الطاقة لتحسين أدائك عند ممارسة الرياضة أو الدراسة قبل الاختبار. قد تمنحك هذه المشروبات طاقة أو مزيدًا من اليقظة، لكن لوقت قصير. فتحتوي مشروبات الطاقة على مواد اصطناعية تشكل خطراً على أجسامنا، بما في ذلك التوراين والكافيين. عند استهلاكها لفترة طويلة من الوقت، يمكن على هذه المكوّنات أن: - تؤثر على معدل نبضات القلب - تزيد ضغط الدم - تسبب زيادة القلق - تزيد الأرق أو عدم القدرة على النوم. مشروبات الطاقة ضارة للغاية للأولاد والمراهقين. قد يمنحك كوب من العصير الطازج طاقة أكثر من تلك المشروبات، ولفترات زمنية أطول.

You are here

TIPS FOR YOUTH

Substances

Drugs are usually perceived as substances that are illegal and difficult to access. Yet, there are legal substances that are easily accessible and are as hazardous.

Legal:

  • Cigarettes - Water Pipe (Nargileh)
  • Alcohol

Prescription medication Illegal:

  • Cannabis (marijuana and hashish)
  • Ecstasy
  • Cocaine
  • Heroin

In Lebanon, getting caught with an illegal substance has serious legal consequences including imprisonment ranging from 3 months to 3 years and a find that can reach 5 million Lebanese Liras.

They don’t just give you “energy” Energy drinks (Red Bull and XXL, to name a few) are marketed as fluids that give you extra energy to enhance your performance to help you play sports more effectively or study harder to ace an exam. Consuming these drinks may give you energy or more alertness, but the effects are temporary. Energy drinks contains artificial substances that are dangerous to our bodies, including taurine and caffeine. If consumed for a period of time, these ingredients can: - Affect your heart rate - Increase blood pressure - Cause heightened anxiety - Increase insomnia or inability to sleep Energy drinks are very harmful for children and teenagers. A glass of fresh juice could give you more energy than these drinks do, for longer periods of time.

In Lebanon, cannabis is an illegal drug. Many people believe it is a harmless drug because it leads to feelings of happiness and relaxation and an increase in appetite. But consuming cannabis can have some negative consequences: - It can put the consumer at risk of being in a road accident due to slowed down reactions - Continuous use can lead to short-term memory problems, loss of motivation, and addiction Although cannabis is legal in some countries and is sometimes used for medicinal purposes, it doesn’t make it good for you.

Ecstasy (also known as the “party pill” or “love drug”) is often taken at raves and parties to endure more hours of partying. It will increase energy for a short while, but this is followed by: - Anxiety - High blood pressure - Rapid heartbeat - Sadness or depression Once taken, ecstasy causes dehydration, which often leads to consumption of alcohol. Combining ecstasy with alcohol is very harmful and can even be poisonous and lethal. People who have chosen to take ecstasy should only consume water or non-alcoholic drinks to quench thirst.

Is Nargileh harmful? Water pipes, (also known as nargileh or argileh) are widely available around Lebanon in cafes, restaurants and homes, and smoking them is quite common. Many people have misconceptions about water pipes, and believe they are less harmful than cigarettes. They believe the water acts as a filter and rids the pipe of toxins and chemicals, deeming it harmless. The fact is, smoking Nargileh is a lot more harmful than smoking cigarettes. The concentrations of smoke that are inhaled are much larger so smoke still enters the lungs after taking a puff, even if the person is not inhaling it. Water reduces the taste of burning coal used to burn the tobacco, but it does not filter out all the harmful chemicals.